Number 99: Jamaican Blue Mountain Coffee

14 Feb

It’s Valentine’s Day.  And I’m blogging.  And drinking.  An watching last night’s episode of “The Bachelor.”  Because Dan came home from work with a stomach bug today.  I was hoping to do something a bit more romantic than sitting on my computer on Valentine’s Day, but what can I do?  Dan went to bed at 5:00 so I guess I’m going to entertain myself tonight.  And I guess that involves talking about the cup of coffee I drank the other day. Woo.

This past Saturday night, I went to my parents’ house for dinner and board games.  After some tasty chili, some super moist cornbread, and some heated sessions of Apples to Apples, it was time coffee.  Since I don’t have a coffee grinder OR a coffee maker in my apartment, I brought my whole bean Jamaican Blue Mountain coffee to my parents and forced them to make it!

So what’s so special about Jamaican Blue Mountain coffee?  Well, it’s from the Blue Mountains of Jamaica…and it’s pretty damn expensive.  I managed to find a Blue Mountain blend on Amazon for $10/lb, so I’d hate to find out how much the pure stuff would cost.  Did I care that I was drinking the finest coffee in all the land?  Not one iota.  I think I have coffee approximately 2 times per year, and it usually makes its appearance in a mocha or a mocha frappuccino.


I started off by trying the coffee black, so as not to muddle the flavor with milk and sugar.  What did I taste?  Uh…coffee.  Yesterday, Laura from Gringation’s Blog left me a comment on my whiskey post.  She said that she once went to a coffee tasting and when asked what it tasted like, she responded with “warm.”  I think that’s about as in depth I’m going to get in this post, as I’m a complete moron when it comes to the ways of the coffee world.

Now I’m going to get back to watching “The Bachelor” and eating these, which were intended for Dan, but are clearly not going to be eaten…
THE VERDICT
I think you really have to be a coffee connoisseur to appreciate this stuff, because to me, it tasted just like normal coffee.  And I don’t even like coffee.  Jamaican Blue Mountain coffee, you may be exotic and you may have a cool name, but I’m sticking to tea, thank you very much.

5 Responses to “Number 99: Jamaican Blue Mountain Coffee”

  1. IntenseGuy February 15, 2012 at 9:05 am #

    😦 I’m sorry Dan was sick. He need some of that medicinal Whiskey huh. I hope you enjoyed the dipped strawberries much more than the coffee!

    p.s., I can’t taste any difference amongst them either beyond “too strong to drink” and “it’s ok”.

  2. Beth February 15, 2012 at 9:58 am #

    Like Kona blends, and other blends, that basically meant you were drinking 5-10% Blue Mountain, and a lot of other crap (Arabica, maybe) beans. So I’m not surprised that it was ‘meh’. I used to hate coffee, and then I tried a pure Kona (on Hawaii, which may have helped) and it was amazing- earthy without any bitter tanins, regenerative, a little citrusy…..I was shocked! Here’s to hoping some day somebody treats you to a cup of the real stuff. 😉

  3. Laura in Cancun February 15, 2012 at 11:32 am #

    I hear ya! I’m probably more interested in the chocolate covered strawberries you had. 🙂

  4. Kelly @ Dare to be Domestic February 16, 2012 at 10:06 am #

    I don’t really know jack about coffee. I know that either I like it… or I don’t. Bottom line my favorite coffee is Foldgers so you know how fancy I am right? But the best cup of Joe I’ve ever had was seriously from Costa Rica. It was amazing. I wish I could go back and get some more… sure I could buy it here but there’s no vacation in that right? Thanks for keeping it real! 🙂

  5. Cathy February 29, 2012 at 3:34 pm #

    I love coffee….some day I’ll treat myself to some of this and it will be glorious. I just know it:)

Leave a Reply

