Number 88: Flowers

15 Feb

So I told you that Dan was sick with a stomach bug yesterday, but what I didn’t tell you is that he still pulled through with the roses!  Good guy.  And instead of thinking “oh, how beautiful!” or “what a wonderful boyfriend I have,” I was thinking “can I eat these?”  And it turns out that yes, you can eat them!  So eat them I did.

Now, I know that I probably shouldn’t have.  They were from a grocery store and I’m almost certain that they were sprayed with all sorts of chemicals and pesticides, but I only ate two petals.  I don’t think you can die from eating two petals.  I guess we’ll find out soon, anyways.

After thoroughly washing a couple of petals, I bit into one.  It didn’t taste at all floral like I thought it might (once I had some elderflower wine and it was like drinking a bottle of perfume).  It tasted more like greens…spinach perhaps?  It was very lettucey and kind of grassy, with a hint of sweetness.  Did it taste good?  Not unless you enjoy eating grass.  Hell, maybe some people do.


THE VERDICT
Yes, they’re beautiful, but they don’t taste as good as they look.  Flowers petals are for looking at…or for sprinkling over a bed…or for putting in a bathtub.  With a flavor like that, I’m quite certain that they’re not for eating, and I intend to keep it that way.

6 Responses to “Number 88: Flowers”

  1. Big Onion February 15, 2012 at 11:45 am #

    When I was younger I ate a whole rose. Just put the whole flower in my mouth. It didn’t taste good at all.

    There are some edible orchids out there (although technically, all flowers are more or less edible). Another thing I’ve seen a lot of is squash blossoms: http://www.thekitchn.com/five-ways-to-eat-squash-blosso-87564

    A chef buddy of mine loves using the little blossoms from our mustard plants when they go to seed. They’re small, bright yellow, and carry a LOT of bite to them. But from what I understand, most flowers don’t have a lot of flavor or if they do it’s not something appetizing, so … I don’t get it.

  2. Miss Angie February 15, 2012 at 2:23 pm #

    Um, yeah… Not for eating.

  3. Beth February 16, 2012 at 10:06 am #

    Nasturtiams are better- they taste peppery, like radiccio. And work well in salads. Rose petals…well, they’re best when candied. 😀
    Good on you for your courage with all this- that’s fantastic!

  4. Laura in Cancun February 16, 2012 at 11:23 am #

    Love the color!

  5. Bridget February 27, 2012 at 11:06 pm #

    Tony would be proud! I remember him wandering through various gardens plucking flowers from the Earth and eating them, then offering some to us. I don’t think I ever took him up on that offer…..or else I’ve blocked it from memory. 😉

  6. Cathy February 29, 2012 at 3:37 pm #

    bwahahaha! I find it hilarious that you ate your valentine’s roses. I like the smell of fresh cut grass, but I suppose eating it wouldn’t be that great. Aren’t there some flowers that are poisonous if ingested? I’d stay away from those.

Leave a Reply

