Number 86: Hare

23 Feb

Don’t worry- I am in no way under the illusion that this pile of greyish-purple slop looks in any way appetizing.  But I can tell you that it tastes pretty damn good.  I would be inclined to say that I did something wrong when preparing this meal (as I don’t think stew is ever supposed to be purple), but I followed this recipe to a T.  I guess because the soup contains a lot of red wine, it stained everything purple, but I can hardly imagine Robert Irvine placing a dish like this in front of his guests.  Nor would he use the leaves from celery as a garnish…but hey, I needed something green!

But let’s start from the beginning, which involved me looking high and low for a butcher shop that sold hare.  After contacting tons of places, I finally spoke to somebody on Facebook from Dorfler’s Meat Market.  I made Dan call to order the hare because I’m a wimp, and at one point, Dan asked how much the hare cost by saying, “and how much does that run?”  The butcher’s response?  “Well, hopefully it isn’t running at all!”  Ah, butcher humor.

The second I walked through the butcher shop door, the guy knew exactly who I was and said he recognized me from my website.  Um, internet celebrity here?!  (Yeah right.)  After he handed me my bag o’ hare, I was on my way, but not before quickly recruiting him to hunt down some chitlins for me.  How’s that going, by the way, Dorfler’s dude?  I know you’re reading this…


When I got home, I unwrapped the hare to find the strangest looking hunk of meat I have ever seen.  While I knew it was hare, I had absolutely no idea what I was looking at.  There was no sign of legs or ribs or, well, anything!  After defrosting it, though, I finally was able to conclude that it was indeed a hare and not an alien pod.  Unfortunately, it still had all its bones in it, so I took a pair of kitchen shears to it and started cutting.  God knows I had no idea what I was doing, but I managed to get about a pound or so of meat off that beast.  I think Rocket could tell that there was delicious meat in the room, because he sat next to me the whole time, politely waiting for scraps to fall.  They didn’t.

I then decided (f0r some strange reason) to stay up until midnight making bunny stew.  As I was browning the hare, I took a bite to see what it tasted like without any seasonings.  To be honest, I couldn’t really taste anything.  It was a lighter meat – kind of like chicken – but it didn’t really taste like chicken.  The flavor was just too subtle. After simmering the hare with red wine and all kinds of vegetables, though, it took on their flavors and was superbly flavorful and tender.  I just wish the stew looked slightly less nauseating.

THE VERDICT
While the hare alone didn’t exactly live up to my flavor expectations, the hare stew did.  And to have a big pot of warm stew in your home on a day like this…well…it’s just heaven.

7 Responses to “Number 86: Hare”

  1. c.c. February 23, 2012 at 4:40 pm #

    you ate a bunny! no bueno. :[

  2. Laura in Cancun February 23, 2012 at 5:13 pm #

    Butcher humor is awesome, apparently.

  3. Kelly @ Dare to be Domestic February 24, 2012 at 9:23 am #

    let me start by stating the obvious. um Rocket is a doll. What an adorable pup! That’s so cool that the butcher knew who you are. Maybe they have a poster at each shop around town that sells exotic goods of what you may need so they can sell you all that you want to complete your list?

    I have never had the inclination to eat hare, I still don’t think I do. Truth be told if I had to eat a hamburger in a cow field I’d actually sit and cry and not be able to eat the burger. I’m just strange like that. My point is bunnies are cute but for the purposes of a list like this I’d totally try it.

  4. Amy February 24, 2012 at 4:09 pm #

    I made rabbit stew in culinary labs. It was delicious. I like your purple version 🙂

  5. Bridget February 27, 2012 at 11:03 pm #

    Did you know I ate hare a few weeks ago at a restaurant? It’s true! I found it to be a bit tough for my liking. Hare stew sounds like it was better than what I had. Yey! 😉

  6. Cathy February 29, 2012 at 3:40 pm #

    The purple stew looks completely unappetizing. And the “hunk of hare” def looks like an alien pod. However, because you said it tasted so good I’d be inclined to try it. And, nothing beats a bowl of stew on a snowy day.

  7. IntenseGuy March 1, 2012 at 11:13 am #

    Waiter!!! There’s a hare in my stew!!

    Sorry… couldn’t resist the not so bunny punny.

    Going to rabbit now….

Leave a Reply

