Number 30: Bagna Cauda

27 Feb

When I first found out what bagna cauda was, I was a bit skeptical.  It’s a dipping sauce made of butter, garlic, olive oil, and anchovies, and for some reason, that didn’t appeal to me.  As I was making it, though, I realized that I was absolutely insane.  Butter and garlic together- well, obviously heaven.  Add some oil and anchovies and you are dealing with a pot full of rich, salty deliciousness.  Just the smell was enough to drive me crazy!

The best part is that it took almost no time to make at all.  All I needed to do was put the ingredients in my mini food processor (that I won at Dave & Busters!) and blend ’em all up.  And yes, I did squeal like a child when I had to handle the sardines.  They’re so slimy!

After that, I heated the mixture up, popped it in the fondue pot, chopped some veggies, and that was that!  You’re also supposed to dip French bread into the bagna cauda, but I just used normal slices of bread.

The one bad thing about the sauce is that it is so thin that it wouldn’t really adhere well to the veggies.  Also, the chopped up garlic and anchovies all sat in the bottom of the pot, and that mixture was clearly the best part.  After a few minutes, I developed a solid strategy: find a scoop-like veggie (green peppers and celery worked best) and dig all the way to the bottom, picking up as much garlic and anchovy goodness as possible.  When it came to dipping the bread, no strategy was necessary; it soaked up the sauce like a champ.

THE VERDICT
This was definitely one of the best foods I have had in a while.  It was salty and garlicky and all things delicious- I even preferred it to cheese fondue, and I’m obsessed with cheese.  If it wasn’t loaded with so much butter and oil, I would make it every single night.  I urge you to make this…like, right now.
Go!

5 Responses to “Number 30: Bagna Cauda”

  1. Miss Angie February 28, 2012 at 10:35 am #

    Ooh, now I’m curious to try it. I’ve never had Anchovies though…

  2. Laura in Cancun February 28, 2012 at 11:06 am #

    I’m a huge fan of any dipping sauce, and this sounds great, especially with bread

  3. Kelly @ Dare to be Domestic February 28, 2012 at 11:40 am #

    I’ve never heard of this but I’m sold! Sounds amazing, especially on some crusty bread for sure!!!

  4. Cathy February 29, 2012 at 3:41 pm #

    I’d have to make JT handle the anchovies, but I’d totally try this. Butter, garlic and salty fish flavor?! Dig in!

  5. IntenseGuy March 1, 2012 at 11:17 am #

    Move over Smuckers… With a name like Bagna Cauda is has’ta be good.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

