Number 59: Poutine

4 Mar

French fries.  Cheese curds.  Gravy.  Pile them all together in a box, grab a fork, and you’ve got yourself some poutine.  Poutine is a snack that originated in Canada and, to ensure awesome results, Dan and I drove all the way to Toronto to get some.  Okay, 9 hours isn’t that far of a drive, but it’s not like we just popped to the corner store; we crossed a border, y’all!

Poutine isn’t the sole reason for our drive to Canada, but I’ll expound on that later in the week.  Anyways, once Dan and I checked into our hotel room in Toronto, we thought for a while about where we should go to get poutine.  From what I had heard, it’s pretty readily available, but I wanted to find a place that made it memorably.  That’s when we opened our little “about the hotel” binder and turned to this page:

I don’t know if you can read that, but basically it says that 20 kind of poutine awaited just three blocks away from our hotel.  At an actual poutinerie!  Score!  We made our way over post haste.  It ended up being a little hole in the wall joint, with a counter to order at and a little ledge near the window where you could eat.

They also had a food truck, which I’m sure makes it rounds when it’s not snowing out (it was).  Dan and I decided to share a large traditional poutine, which ended up being about three heaping pounds of food.  While I thought the fries would be soggy and gross from the gravy, they actually weren’t.  They were definitely soft, but the gravy was nice and thick, so it didn’t soak into the fries too much.  The cheese curds slowly melted before our eyes, making for a totally moreish treat.  Melting cheese and rich gravy, all poured over hand-cut fries?  Awesome.

It was sooo good, but we got full really quickly.  Can you imagine ordering a box of this stuff at 2:00am after one too many beers, though?  That box would have been annihilated.  This is is the ultimate drunk food, for sure.

THE VERDICT
I wish I could have tried all of the flavors, but I didn’t have the time, the money, or the drunken ravenousness (yes, that’s now a word) to do so.  I definitely enjoyed sampling the traditional poutine, and it was surprisingly not as heavy and you’d think it would be.  Next time, I think I’ll have to return after a night at the bar.  You can bet a pretty penny that I would destroy the bacon cheeseburger flavor…just feed me plenty of tequila.

8 Responses to “Number 59: Poutine”

  1. Kelly @ Dare to be Domestic March 5, 2012 at 8:11 am #

    The curd aspect would make me shy away but after watching so many food shows AND seeing how melty they got – forget it I’m totally in!!!

    Off Topic Note: I watched Andy Zimmern’s show where he went to the Road Kill Festival in WVA and totally thought of you – it looks like so much fun! Was he there when you were?

  2. Miss Angie March 5, 2012 at 9:46 am #

    I LOOOVE Poutine. We have an Irish bar/pub here that serves it, and it’s really yummy. Totally the best drunk food!

    • Karim March 17, 2012 at 9:28 pm #

      At Miller Park I’ve only seen it at the specialty fry place (can’t ermember the name) near section 127. They call it The Montreal . I think that I’ve also seen it at AJ Bombers on Water St but I don’t know if it is part of the regular menu. I haven’t tried it either place since I have had to limit my intake lately. Now, maybe if I plan a trip to Canada it would be an excuse to try it there, just for the sake of research, you know

  3. Laura in Cancun March 5, 2012 at 11:20 am #

    I’m going to try to use the word ravenousness in a sentence this week.

    Poutine looks amazing!!! I’m drooling already.

    Wish we had food trucks in my city

  4. Cathy March 7, 2012 at 1:47 pm #

    I’ve heard so many good things about Poutine but have never had the chance to try it. It would be the BEST drunk food. Speaking of bacon cheeseburger, I had a bacon cheeseburger pizza from Papa Murphys the other night. Why have I never had pickles on pizza before? I think I’m just going to start putting them on all my pizzas…pickles and pepperoni? yes please!

  5. IntenseGuy March 7, 2012 at 2:07 pm #

    I think I’d prefer to go to Canada without dying first…

    🙂

  6. Amy March 16, 2012 at 8:50 am #

    My Canadian friend LOVES poutine. I suppose I’ll have to try it one drunken night when the opportunity presents itself…

  7. Iendah March 18, 2012 at 6:12 am #

    It looks really white buseace during deep frying it mixed with some of the melted cheese from the cheese curds. I didn’t see any recipe on the link you posted, but I actually prefer a light chicken or turkey gravy to a heavy brown gravy buseace when you use too heavy of a gravy that becomes almost all you can taste.

Leave a Reply

