Number 41: Curried Goat

11 Mar

Alright, people.  This is it.  The final countdown.  I have ten- count them!- ten more foods to eat and just under three weeks to eat them.  I don’t want to speak too soon, but think I have this in the bag.  Today, it was sunny and 65 degrees out, so Dan and I headed downtown.  After making a quick trip to Chinatown to pick up another item on my list, we drove up north to De-Jred Fine Jamaican Cuisine, a restaurant that had gotten awesome reviews online.

I ordered the curried goat and Dan ordered the jerk chicken.  The dreadlocked guy behind the counter packed the food into a couple of styrofoam containers, and we were on our way.  Once I got home and transferred my food onto a plate, I was shocked.  It seemed to have practically tripled in size!  There was plenty of goat, a huge amount of rice and beans, steamed cabbage slaw, and a few slices of fried plantain.  I probably had about two pounds of food on my plate.

The goat was a neon yellow color – the photo doesn’t do it justice – and I always get a little bit nervous when colors not seen in nature make their way onto my plate.  Luckily, the flavor made up for the unsettling color palette.  The goat was perfectly spiced and oh-so tender.  I didn’t love that there were huge chunks of bone attached to many of the pieces, but the meat was tender enough that I didn’t have to struggle too hard to get it off the bone.  The meat seemed pretty mild at first, but the heat of the spice built and built until my mouth was on fire.

The rice and beans were the perfect starchy pairing and also helped combat the spiciness of the goat.  The steamed cabbage was delish, too, but I think the highlight of the meal for me was the fried plantain.  It was sweet and bright and was definitely a nice contrast to an otherwise heavy plate of food.  And it was ten times better than the fried plantain I attempted to make a few months ago!


THE VERDICT
I tried goat a few years ago at Taste of Chicago and it was nothing like the goat from De-Jred.  It was tough, dry, flavorless, and just plain boring.  The goat I had today, however, was fabulously flavorful and melt-in-your-mouth delicious.  I must say that I favored Dan’s spicy-sweet jerk chicken over my goat, but I would absolutely have curried goat again if it was served to me.

4 Responses to “Number 41: Curried Goat”

  1. IntenseGuy March 12, 2012 at 6:55 am #

    🙂 only 10 more to go? and then what? a new list of 100 more foods? 🙂

    I saw a goat yesterday, he looked like he was talking to a horse (both very much alive) and between the two of them, thought about you… how’d that for flattering?

  2. Kelly @ Dare to be Domestic March 12, 2012 at 7:32 am #

    I hate that there were bones in it – that would have worried me/grossed me out. Talk about choking hazard. BUT at least you weren’t alone. Yes I have that irrational fear I will choke on food alone in my house and no one will find me. 😉 All in all thought his sounds SO tasty. I really want to eat at an official Jerk restaurant and I also need to try Indian food – we don’t really have that variety here in small town Alabama 🙂

  3. Miss Angie March 12, 2012 at 12:00 pm #

    Yum! SO yum! I want to try that-I love anything curried!

    Ten left? WOW!

    What will you do when you’re done? What will this blog become?

  4. Laura in Cancun March 12, 2012 at 1:25 pm #

    Hmm doesn’t look too appetizing… but I can always get on board with fried plantains!

Leave a Reply

