Number 26: Raw Scotch Bonnet Pepper (a Vlog!)

18 Mar

I decided that for number 26, I would do the most awkward thing I have ever done: make a vlog.  I figured that when it comes to eating super hot peppers, my face is going to tell you more than my writing will.  So check out my video after the jump and watch me writhe in pain!  Woo!

THE VERDICT
In a strange, masochistic way, I was actually kind of disappointed by how quickly the spiciness passed. It was absolutely the hottest thing I have ever had, but within a minute or two, the worst was over and I could return to normal life. Lame.

9 Responses to “Number 26: Raw Scotch Bonnet Pepper (a Vlog!)”

  1. Scott Church March 18, 2012 at 5:29 pm #

    If Dan still had the long hair, most certainly he would have been fine. I ate some type of pepper in the Dominican Republic which made my ears rings. Was pretty damn hot. But I ate more. Love the vlog!

  2. Bridget March 18, 2012 at 6:35 pm #

    “It’s organic…..this is organic” 😉 I love what Dan has to offer in this video! This was so funny and you are SO brave! You guys got through this pretty painlessly. 🙂 And Kath, generally I think we look nothing alike but I actually see myself in you while watching this! Perhaps we are sisters after all!!

    • Emilie March 18, 2012 at 7:30 pm #

      I loved Dan’s quote, too. This was terrific. Kudos, K!

  3. Kelly @ Dare to be Domestic March 19, 2012 at 7:27 am #

    You two are really too cute for words. And also, thank you for showing me that it’s OK to use beer pint glasses as everyday glasses. We have an entire cabinet full of them [the AC/DC one included] that we use all the time for pretty much anything but beer usually.

    This video was great – especially your facial expressions upon eating the peppers and your pups sneezes! Loved it!

    Well done ballsy ones!

  4. IntenseGuy March 20, 2012 at 10:26 am #

    Sigh. You are so beautiful.

    I can’t comment further without sounding like a dirty old man.

    🙂 I love the ad I got… “Bariatric Choice – for Weight Loss”…

  5. Erin March 21, 2012 at 4:30 pm #

    Ummmm… You are ADORABLE! Weird that I’ve “known you” for like 3 years now and this was the first time I’ve heard you talk! So Cute!!!

  6. Cathy March 30, 2012 at 10:41 am #

    This vlog was fantastic! You did way better than I would have. I usually have to talk myself into eating something that I don’t want to eat for like 20 minutes. And spicy stuff usually makes my eyes water. I don’t think I’ll be vlogging while eating peppers anytime soon.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Number 93: Rose Harissa | OMNIVORE100PROJECT - March 27, 2012

    […] just ate it out of the jar.  Big mistake.  It was REALLY spicy.  It was nothing compared to the Scotch bonnet pepper I had a few days ago, but still very, very spicy.  It was loaded with chili pepper seeds and […]

  2. Number 43: Phaal | OMNIVORE100PROJECT - March 29, 2012

    […] of rice.  I was more than a little nervous to taste it.  I mean, when I ate a tiny piece of the Scotch bonnet pepper a couple of weeks ago, I could barely talk.  This meal had four full chilies in it!  Upon tasting […]

Leave a Reply

