Oh. Em. Gee. (It’s Over.)

14 Apr


I cannot believe that I’m officially done with this challenge!  I’m going to be sad to see this tattered little list leave my purse, where it has been sitting for 366 days, but I’m proud that I was able to complete all 100 foods in a single year.  I ate some disgusting foods, some illegal foods, some hideously expensive foods, some foods that made me want to jump for joy…I ate foods in England, Scotland, Canada, the Czech Republic, and all around the USA.  I’m at least a couple pounds heavier and a couple thousand dollars poorer, but I did it.  I’m done.

Before I go, I’d love to take a few minutes to recap my favorite (and least favorite) moments of the challenge.  There were so many strange and ridiculous situations that I encountered during this project, and I’m happy that I can now look back fondly on them all.  Here we go!

The Top 3 Best Foods
Number 4 – Steak Tartare
I’m more or less a man when it comes to food.  Slap some raw ground beef in front of me, and I’m going to enjoy every last bite of it.  And while this made me move at the pace of a sloth for the rest of the day, it was well worth it.

Number 19 – Steamed Pork Buns

I don’t know what it was about these, but once I was finished eating them, all I could think about was getting more.  The texture was like nothing I had ever felt before- light, fluffy, and slightly spongy, with warm chunks of BBQ pork inside.  I need to go back and get more of these, stat!
Number 48 – Eel
Yes, eel.  This premade unagi kabayaki that I bought from a local Japanese market was beyond amazing.  While its texture wasn’t the greatest, the flavors were incredible.  The kabayaki sauce made my taste buds sing!

The #1 Worst Food
Number 52 – Umeboshi
Japanese pickled plums.  These bastards were the only things on this list that almost made me vomit.  The second I placed one in my mouth, I wanted to die.  The overwhelming salty flavor and the mushy texture made these the most horrible things I have ever tasted.  I felt like I was eating an eyeball dipped in formaldehyde.  The third ingredient in these babies, MSG, couldn’t even save them.

#1 Hardest to Find
Number 93 – Rose Harissa
I have no idea why this was so difficult to locate, but rose harissa had me driving to Canada, walking for miles in freezing weather, then pawing through thousands of tiny jars and bottles.  No fun.

#1 Craziest Experience
Number 75 – Roadkill
Driving 12 hours to attend a roadkill cook-off in the mountains of West Virginia is crazy enough to make this list.  Add in the creepy motels, the camo-clad locals, the hair-raising roads, and the Miss Roadkill pageant, and you’ve got yourself a winner.

#1 Saddest Moment
Number 97 – Lobster Thermidor
Mercilessly stabbing Randy the lobster in the head was one of the saddest and most difficult things I have ever done.  His little squirmy body didn’t make it any easier.  God bless you, Randy.

#1 Gross-Out Moment
Number 65 – Durian
It’s safe to say that tearing a durian apart with my bare hands was the second most disturbing thing I have ever done.  The sound and the feeling of ripping the shell was just too much to handle.  The most disturbing thing I have ever done was pulling out the egg-colored flesh from inside of it.  I felt like I was performing an alien abortion.

I think “alien abortion” is a nice note to end this blog on.  It captures the ridiculousness and vulgarity that I like to offer to you lovely people, my readers 🙂  Thank you all again for reading the Omnivore100Project and being so loyal; this blog would be nothing without you!  Now that I’m back in the world of the working, it’s time for me to take an extended hiatus.  I’ll do my best to stop by when I can, but if I end up slacking (which I usually do), know that I’m thinking about you all.  And if another interesting challenge arises, I’ll be all over it.  You can be sure of that.

Hasta la vista, babies!

15 Responses to “Oh. Em. Gee. (It’s Over.)”

  1. Beth Wade April 15, 2012 at 10:15 am #

    Congratulations, and thanks for sharing all of that with us. 🙂

  2. Big Onion April 16, 2012 at 7:27 am #

    Congrats again on completing the list!

  3. Kelly @ Dare to be Domestic April 16, 2012 at 8:17 am #

    Congratulations on finishing it all and in the amount of time alloted! SO fun! I think you should frame that list if you haven’t already disposed of it. I think it’s a great reminder of your determination!!! 🙂

    I hope to hear from you every now and then and knock ’em dead at your new job girl!!!

  4. IntenseGuy April 16, 2012 at 12:33 pm #

    I hope you come back again soon – with perhaps another crazy project – or just to say ‘Hi’.

    RIP Randy.

  5. Nancy April 16, 2012 at 3:27 pm #

    I’m really going to miss your gastronomic adventures. Please try to check in once in awhile. There’s a Facebook app circulating around with the 100 Things You Should Eat Before You Die. I’m sure you’ve probably eaten most of them but just in case, check it out to see if there’s something you missed.

    Good luck in your new job. You deserve it!

  6. Laura in Cancun April 17, 2012 at 2:15 pm #

    Congrats!!! Glad you had to eat those gross things and not me! haha Hope to see you around

  7. Cathy April 19, 2012 at 10:24 am #

    I can’t believe it’s over:( It was fun following along, and I agree with IntenseGuy, you need to figure out another crazy challenge to blog about.

  8. Monique April 25, 2012 at 7:37 pm #

    Congrats, you made it!! Now that I’m done with school I was looking forward to reading your blog again 🙂

    I think you should keep blogging, for sure! 🙂 Hope you’re doing well!

  9. Samir May 17, 2012 at 8:34 am #

    Congrats, you made it.

    Samir

  10. Miss Angie June 14, 2012 at 3:05 pm #

    Oh my gosh, I can’t believe it. CONGRATS.

    Now what blog are you going to write in?

  11. Autism United June 25, 2012 at 8:51 am #

    Wow what a feat! Congrats! What’s next?

  12. Becki D. August 20, 2012 at 6:30 pm #

    What an adventure! I think you need to consider an adventure-eating restaurant venture. You know, a place that serves all this fancy stuff, but not catered to the usual fancy set. Catering to those of us who just want to try this weirdness, because, well, we can.

    Do eet!

  13. IntenseGuy October 2, 2012 at 11:09 am #

    This was in the news today and made me think of you.

    I hope you are well!!

    http://news.yahoo.com/blogs/sideshow/kentucky-restaurant-shut-down-roadkill-kitchen-160225525.html

  14. Kelly @ Turned Up To Eleven! October 20, 2012 at 11:12 am #

    SO strange – this came up in my email feed today like it was a new post… now it just makes me sad it’s all over. I hope that you are doing well and that the new job is rocking!!! 🙂

  15. judith a steed January 26, 2013 at 8:01 pm #

    well, i was just watching your youtube video for the 5th or so time and then saw the link to your food blog. what fun to read some of your favs. you are an amazing writer–funny and pithy! i’m proud to be your mom!

Leave a Reply

